In how many cities and circuits in Spain has an F1 race been held?

¿En cuántas ciudades y circuitos de España se ha disputado una carrera de F1?

This weekend Formula 1 returns to Barcelona. The World Cup reaches the sixth round of the season with Charles Leclerc leading the standings. The Spaniards Carlos Sainz and Fernando Alonso are 5th and 16th, respectively. The Circuit de Barcelona will host some 100,000 spectators after two years without an audience due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The Circuit of Catalonia has hosted Grand Prix since 1991. Throughout history, Spain has hosted the F1 World Championship in six different circuits. This is the list of all the circuits in which Formula 1 races have been held:

Pedralbes (1951 and 1954)

The first Spanish circuit to hold an F1 Grand Prix was the Pedralbes Circuitjust 30 kilometers from the Circuit de Catalunya. In 1946, this track opened its doors for the first time, being the venue for the Penya Rhin Grand Prix, a Spanish car race that began in 1916.

In 1950, a non-scoring event of the Formula 1 Championship was held. A year later, the first Formula 1 Grand Prix was held in Spain, which ended with the victory of the Spaniard Juan Manuel Fangio with Alfa Romeo. Three years later, F1 returned to Pedralbes and Ferrari driver Mike Hawthorn was the winner of the last Grand Prix at this 6,316 meter circuit.

Jarama (1968, 1970, 1972, 1974, 1976-1981)

The Jarama held its first Formula 1 GP in 1968.

Fourteen years after the last Spanish Grand Prix was held in Pedralbes, F1 landed in Madrid. In 1968, the Jarama Circuitlocated about 20 kilometers north of the capital, it hosted its first GP. The circuit was designed by the creator of Suzuka and Zandvoort, John Hugenholtz, and hosted the Spanish GP in alternation with Montjuïc Circuit. Gilles Villeneuve was the last winner on the Madrid track.

Montjuïc (1969, 1971, 1973 and 1975)

The Jarama circuit in Madrid and Montjuic held the Grand Prix of Spain in alternate years. F1 visited this track for the first time in 1969, repeated in 1971 and 1973 and closed its participation in 1975. The lack of facilities and security guarantees was the reason for the closure of the circuit. The last winner in Montjüic was the German Jochen Mass, with the McLaren team.

The last grand prize will be remembered for various reasons. In free practice, the drivers refused to shoot due to the lack of security on the track. Some of the safety rails were not properly fixed and during the night of Friday, people from the organization and mechanics of the teams had to work so that everything was in order for Saturday’s classification. Emerson Fittipaldi He refused to participate and, to avoid reprisals, he went out on the track to do a timed lap at low speed. The Ferraris of Lauda and Regazzoni They completed the front row.

On Sunday, the race started badly. In the first corner there was an accident that left out the first classified: Lauda, ​​Regazzoni, Brambilla and Andretii. The German Rolf Stommelen was leading the race when his rear wing broke in the middle of the straight. This piece collided with the barrier, running over several spectators who later died. After the accident, it was rolled for several laps and, finally, Jochen Mass took the victory. Italian Lella Lombardi finished sixth and became the first woman to score points in F1.

Sherry (1986-1990, 1994, 1997)

The Spanish Grand Prix returned to Spain in 1986 at the Jerez Circuit. Ayrton Senna, who was driving a Lotus and Nigel Mansell, at the controls of the Williams, starred in a tight race. It was only 14 thousandths that separated the winner, Senna, from the British Mansell.

Jerez once again hosted F1 Grand Prix in 1994 and 1997 under the name “European Grand Prix”. The last GP in the Cadiz town will be remembered as one of the most decisive, in which Villaneuve was proclaimed world champion in a race that was not without controversy.

Michael Schumacher and Jacques Villeneuve were at stake for the Championship and it was the last scoring event of the season. In official practice, Villeneuve, Schumacher and Heinz-Harald Frentzen matched the times. In the race, the duel between Schumacher and the Canadian ended at the Dry Sack curve. The German prevented Villeneuve from overtaking him, his cars collided and the Ferrari driver was unable to continue. Villeneuve finished third and thus took the world title. Michael was left without runner-up and the FIA ​​excluded him from the final classification of the Championship as a sanction for causing the collision with Villaneuve.

Montmeló (1991- present)

The Circuit of Catalonia has hosted grand prix since 1991.

Barcelona fulfilled the dream of having a permanent circuit for motor sport in 1991. Since then, the Barcelona Circuit continues to hold the Spanish Grand Prix uninterruptedly. Michael Schumacher achieved his first victory with Ferrari in 1996 at this circuit. In 2006, Fernando Alonso would make history in our country by winning for the first time at home and that same year the Spaniard reached his second World Championship. This weekend will celebrate the sixth round of the 2022 season. A Grand Prix that will be special after the return of the fans to the stands after two years of absence due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Valencia street circuit (2008-2012)

The idea of ​​holding a Formula 1 Grand Prix in Valencia arose in 2006. Bernie Ecclestone was sure that a grand prix should be held in the Mediterranean. Hermann Tilke designed the street circuit project. The FOM and Valmor Sport closed the agreement to organize races between 2008 and 2014. However, it was in 2012 when the last GP was held. The organizers and the Generalitat requested alternate races with Montmeló. The agreement did not come. The request was due to the lack of liquidity to hold a Grand Prix again. Valmor went bankrupt and the government took over the debt. The subsequent executive after the resignation of Francisco Camps had to give up the race despite having a contract until 2014.

The European Grand Prix was held for the first time in 2008 and Felipe Massa (Ferrari) won the inaugural race in Valencia. The following editions ended with the victories of Rubens Barrichello (Brawn GP), Sebastian Vettel (twice with Red Bull) and Fernando Alonso (Ferrari).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here