A Mexican and an American are part of the historical list of FIFA referees for Qatar 2022

A Mexican and an American are part of the historical list of FIFA referees for Qatar 2022

With almost all the teams ready for the 2022 Qatar World Cup, FIFA appointed its referees in charge of dispensing justice on the field of play in the world’s largest football event that begins on November 21 and will play its final on December 18 .

The highest governing organization of global soccer, presented on Friday the names and nationalities of the 36 referees, 69 assistant referees and 24 members of the VAR that will be part of the World Cup.

The most remarkable thing about these FIFA referee elections is that the list includes three female referees and three assistants. Two of those attendees are from the CONCACAF area: Karen Díaz Medina (Mexico) and Kathryn Nesbitt (United States), while Conmebol, in South America, represents Brazil’s Neuza Back (Brazil).

Stéphanie Frappart from France, Salima Mukansanga from Rwanda and Yoshimi Yamashita from Japan will be centre-backs.

“As always, we have put quality before everything else, and the referees chosen have the highest world level,” said the president of the Referees Commission, Pierluigi Collina, in a statement. “The 2018 World Cup was very successful, among other things, because of the excellence of refereeing, and we will give everything to make it even better in Qatar.”

According to FIFA, the project for the selection and preparation of the referees began in 2019, however, they had many setbacks due to the emergency created worldwide by COVID-19 by not being able to carry out the development of face-to-face participation.

Collina assured that, despite everything, they were able to choose the referees they considered suitable for the contest and that they are constantly preparing. This will be the second time that the World Cup has VAR support. The first time it was used was in Russia 2018.

Although there are still four years to go before the 2026 World Cup, which will be held for the first time in three countries: Mexico, the United States and Canada, FIFA said that it will announce something “important” on June 16, when they are made known to the host cities that will come out of the 22 candidate cities.

As usual, FIFA tends to give the countries and cities involved enough time to prepare their infrastructure to be able to receive the millions of fans who want to attend the World Cup.

These are the candidates to host in 2026: Atlanta, Boston, Cincinnati, Dallas, Denver, Edmonton, Guadalajara, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Mexico City, Miami, Monterrey, Nashville, New York/New Jersey, Orlando, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Seattle, Toronto, Vancouver, and Washington DC/Baltimore.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here